Where is the fuel pump relay?

Supposed to be second from the front. But on my 88 it is in a different location, so it is likely there are some variables.

What is your problem? It is likely I've seen it before. I've been screwing around with XJ's since 1987 .

I've looked at two different drawings of the relay layout, one says the fuel pump relay is second from the front, one says it is third from the front. My guess is it depends on whether you have A/C or not and an A/C clutch relay in there also (three relay configuration and four relay configuration).

Last edited:
Hey chuck ? My '92 has a second relay for the fuel pump ballast resistor that is mounted on a bracket outside the PDC. Does an AMC have one too ? My dad had an '89 and I haven't had my hands on it in years , don't remember.

There are 3 or 4 relays in a block (row) about where the PDC goes in later years. The fuel pump relay supplies power to the ballast resistor after the motor starts (good CPS signal) and also primes the fuel rail (for a few seconds) when the key is turned to run on the way to start.. The starter relay bypasses the ballast resistor during cranking and the O2 heater relay bypasses the ballast resistor at WOT (wide open throttle).

A good quick test for fuel pump function is to jump the Orange and Black wire on the starter relay (usually marked BAL on the relay face) to one of the red wires on the main power lug on the starter relay and see what happens. If the fuel pump doesn't run, you have an open wire, a bad ground at the fuel pump or a bad or sticky pump.

I have an 88 and a 96 XJ, both Limited models (export).

A sticky pump sounds funny, but I've had mine stick, whacked on the side of the fuel tank a few times with a rubber hammer and had it work fine for years afterwards.

Last edited: