Change rears = better fuel mileage?

60 Biscayne

I've got an '89 Wrangler that's a 4.2 & 5 speed right now..... I just bought a 2004 Wrangler 4.0 with the automatic trans & transfer case which I'm going to put in as soon as the weather warms up a bit.
Right now my gas mileage stinks & I know the 33x12 Thornbirds don't help.
I was wondering if I changed the rears to a 3.07 ratio vs what I've got now which has to be 4.11 or 4.56 would the effort and expense be worth it? Just had another thought - I wonder what the ratio was of the 2004 Wrangler that this engine came out of & if the computer is set up to recognize that & if I'm going to screw with some shifting ssignals etc......... hmmmmmmmmm...............
Any input would be appreciated,
Thanks - Jim

Last edited:
You'll lose considerable power trying to push those big tires and I would think drop your mileage even more by doing so. Although I have no experience with either engine personally. Someone is going to have to chime in and correct me but a stock 4.2 and 5 speed should have somewhere around 3.5? or 3.73 gearing already? I think only the 4bangers came from the factory with the 4.11 rear end.

Hay thanks,
If your right & the big tire situation is very logical by doing nothing would save me a 600 mile round trip to buy the 3.07 rears plus the purchase price, not to mention the labor to switch them over.
Gas money for my son's Dodge Hemi to go get them was scary plus the tolls........... Boy I feel like I just hit the lottery or something!
I always new that doing nothing would pay off someday!

.........Someone is going to have to chime in and correct me but a stock 4.2 and 5 speed should have somewhere around 3.5? or 3.73 gearing already? I think only the 4bangers came from the factory with the 4.11 rear end.