1998 Wrangler TJ with bad spider gears (?)

cromedome

I am considering changing out the rear axle assembly on my sons Jeep.The drive shaft spins and the wheels do not. I am assuming a shot spider gear.
Having done a few auto repairs in the past I feel confident that I can do the job but will need a little advice and how-to as I have never tried this particular repair before. I am going on the advice of a repair guy who said its a lot easier to drop the whole assemble and replace with a new or used one. I need to first ID the one on the Jeep. I think its a Dana 35c but want to be sure. Also I am having trouble finding the ratio. Before we go any further, is this the time to consider a different rear, maybe a higher performance one, and if we do will the drive shaft have to change as well? Thanks in advance! I plan to photo document this repair once I get all my facts collected.

De' Ja'Vu', I must have grabbed the good coffee this morning, i'm seeing doubles. Anyways, as i've responded to your other post, The Gear ratio should be stamped on a metal tag attached to the differential cover bolts. the other tag should be the axle part number. As for replacing(upgrading) the Differential or axle assembly, there is a bunch of Experts here that can help you with that, i'm not one of them. Oh, and Welcome to Jeepz..

HA HA Ha sorry bout that. I'm gonna run out and do a better wipe down and check it out better. In the meantime, is it a bad idea to run the Jeep in 4wd all the time (til I get it fixed?) I hope you have good coffee. That's one thing you want right for sure.

On pavement and High speeds that i know of is not recommended. i've never used 4wd on the highway or where i have traction. i'm not quite for sure the detrimental effect of driving on 4wd.

You can remove the rear driveshaft and use 4wd in limited amounts, I wouldn't go long distances or accelerate quickly.

It's a lot easier and cheaper to replace the spider gears.