confused as sterile bunny

kawa

I'm not only new to the jeep world but I'm new to jeeps. I bought an 1982 CJ7 4.2 with many problems.
When I try to order parts I'm constantly being asked which jeep I have ie; Wrangler, Cherokee, ETC.
It's my understanding that Jeep didn't use these cute names until later in the 80's.
My latest quest is attempting to locate a new fan clutch and I find '82 4.2 and then all of the cute names are listed. I tell them it's just a CJ7 and they seem to question me and or my intelligence.
So I guess my question is....what do I tell these folks when trying to find parts?
Rog

JEEPZ just installed a VIN decoder, this may help with more detail for your jeep when it comes to giving info for parts

JEEPZ just installed a VIN decoder, this may help with more detail for your jeep when it comes to giving info for parts

to get access to the vin decoder, at the righthand top of the screen is a box for as you to type in "vin decoder", click search and your in the neighborhood of it. Good luck bro and welcome to the site.:)

The first wrangler was made in 1987 (also know as a Jeep YJ). You are correct when you tell them you have a Jeep CJ.

There was no Jeep Wrangler build in 1982, so I would question their software. I think your problem is the store you are at. If you go to somewhere like Advance Auto - Advance Auto Parts: Car, Engine, Batteries, Brakes, Replacement, Performance & Accessories and put in your information, you are asked if it is a CJ5, CJ7, Cherokee, Wagoneer, etc.