Ignitions in CJ's

LadyGator

I have heard yall fellow CJer's talk about replacing the ignition in your jeep's. What kind of warning signs do you get before it needs to be replaced? How much? What kind is best to get? It seems like I have heard people say it seems like carb trouble..... but it is the ignition.

LadyGator,

If by "replacing" you meant upgrading and/or modifying the distributor and the secondary (high-voltage) side of the ignition system, there are several paths commonly followed.

Unfortunately, the commonly implemented ignition upgrades are for the I-6 and V-6/8 engines. Your sig-line indicates that your Jeep has a 4-cylinder motor. I have no personal experience with that motor, so suggestions regarding that motor would be better left to others.

For the sake of gathering background info though, the catalogues from all of the Jeep aftermarket parts houses contain replacement-upgrade distributor-ignition systems for the AMC I-6 and V-8 engines. Background info could be gleaned by reading those advertisements.

I went the GM High Energy Ignition (HEI) route with the Bubbacon I-6. The HEI upgrade is often talked about in conjunction with performing the "Nutter Bypass," but the "whys" and "hows" of the Nutter Bypass are better left to a separate thread.

Although not applicable to your Jeep motor, if you want to learn about the GM HEI ignition upgrade merely for instructional purposes, here are two hyper-links to click on:

(Why to do and how to do the HEI upgrade)

http://www.4x4wire.com/jeep/tech/electrical/hei02/

(A good list of "donor" vehicles)

http://keith.cj8.tripod.com/gm_hei_vehicles.htm

To answer your question more directly, the ignition upgrades and computer bypass techniques are usually related to curing the terrible idle and the motor RPM limitations imposed by the stock computer controlled carb and ignition systems of the 82 and later Jeep I-6, 4.2 liter engines.

I hope this long-winded reply was of some value.

Regards,