2.5 vs. 4.0, sorry i am new to offroading

moose

I was just wondering if the 4 cylinder with a 5- speed will offer enough power to get me threw mud and snow and all around intermediate offroading. Any help is apreciated. thank you for your time[addsig]

Its all about personal preference. The 2.5 will get you anywhere, it just might not be as fast. With the proper driver, the 4 banger can hang with the big V8 boys, but has an advantage because its lighter.

TARSI[addsig]

I absolutely hated my 2.5 and would never ever get one again. The engine lacks power big time which makes daily driving and highway driving terrible. If you have the opportunity go with the 6. [addsig]

On-road the 2.5 is just fine. I commute to NJ (45 miles away) 3-4 times a week. That is all highway and I have no trouble at all maintaining 80 mph. I'm glad I have the 2.5 cuz if I had the 6cyl, I'd probably get a lot of speeding tickets.

TARSI[addsig]

I have a 4banger and I can do 85 downhill on the expressway. There's a little more pull on the expressway, but I can do 80. If you're driving it everyday, I wouldn't go with the 6, they chug a lot more gas, but if it's a luxury vehicle I would jump to the 6.[addsig]

I have a 4.2 6cyl in my YJ and I can barely do 90 maybe 95 goin down a hill but I'm runnin 33s on stock gears so I'm not sure how fast it'd be with 4.56s. [addsig]

Edmunds tells me 15/18 (6-cyl) and 19/20 (4-cyl).
Why is the highway mileage with the 4-cyl so low?
(This is for the 2003 Jeep Wrangler's 4.0 and 2.4.)
[addsig]

I like my 2.5. I find it a little slow on the highway, but it hasen't let me down on the trails. There are a few things you can do to get more power out of your 2.5. Right know I am looking into putting a spacer on my throttle body. And anything to to get more air in won't hurt.[addsig]

or you can be like me and find an old one. Mine is a pickup w/ 360 V8, edlbrock carb...[addsig]