yet another newbie...

mn62980

Re: RE: Workin

I know I'm going to get blasted for this, but I love my jeep and I want to make it more offroadable. What can I do to a two wheel drive 2001 cherokee sport to make it respectable? I'm not wanting to do any seriously hardcore mud bogging or anything, but I'd like to able to handle intermediate type stuff. My buddy in Houston drives a pretty hoss 96 Bronco, and he got me hooked. He told me that with a 4.5" lift and 32s that I could probably handle a lot of stuff if I put lockers on the rear wheels and possibly lose the sway bar.... I suppose what I'm asking is this: what do I have to get to take my 2 wheel drive jeep offroad without having to worry about getting stuck every five minutes? Please be gentle, it's my first time.....
Thank You!!

RE: Re: RE: Workin

Hmmm... Well, firstly, be of good cheer, we are of a pleasant question-answering bunch... I have not had any experience with 2wd XJs, my personal suggestion would be to swap out axle and driveshaft, add transfer case, and you have a 4X4... Don't know how easy/possible that is to do, however...

Besides that, some good tires that will grip, rather than make it fishtail in the back would be my first suggestion... There are a lot of others here who can answer your questions better than I...

Welcome to Jeepz, hope you stay around, and post often...

RE: Will this body tub swap work?

swapping axles and putting in a t-case and driveshaft is an option, however, if you're asking how to make a 2 wheel drive vehicle workable, i think that might be a bit much to tackle for now. my suggestion would be to trade it in for a 4 wheel drive vehicle if you really wanna lift it and wheel it, or keep that, and just buy a beater jeep, i'm not sure how much money you want to or are able to spend, cause depending on the deals you can find, the first option would probably end up being cheaper.

RE: speakers