98 grand cherokee laredo 4.0l

behr

morning everyone. embarking on a project to revitalize my first ride ever, my 98 jeep grand cherokee laredo. dad let me use it when i turned 16 and gave it to me when i graduated. his name is alejandro. i love him dearly.

was hoping i could get some pointers on a couple things.

1. shocks/coils - are these items i can replace from a junkyard? i dont think theyve ever been replaced, and hes up to 120k. $$ is a factor, i dont really WANT to pay 50 a shock and 40 a coil (or whatever the prices were i researched), but id be more than happy to if i HAVE to.

2. alignment - (happened because of wreck)i was in a wreck 10.07. most of him is fixed now (right rear panel is a lil messed up and hatch wont open because of...something. i dont know, ill ask about that soon enough.) but steering wheel is WAY off. going straight down the road the wheel is oriented 90 degrees to the right. im planning on a five year alignment package from tire kingdom and just wanted to make sure that this would fix it. upon inspection, several mechanics mentioned nothing in the steering was bent, so im hoping its just the alignment.

3. lift gate - (happened because of wreck)it wont open. when i hit the right rear panel, it mustve jarred his lift gate to the left and smashed the latch or something. trying to open the lift gate yields no results, not even resistance on the latch. just feels like its not connected to anything. i need you guys to tell me if theres any way to replace this without just swapping the whole tailgate. i was hoping the latch assembly can be undone and replaced once its open but i cant remember what it looks like. and the only way i can think to get it open is to dremel off the bolts that are holding the metal latch clasp to the bottom of the jeep.