lift kit and drive shaft alignment

dirtster

I'm new to this so bear with me please. I have been considering a 2.5 - 3" lift kit for my newly acquired 2000 XJ (mainly so I can use 30 or 31" tires). I have been doing some research and asking around. The companies who sell lift kits seem to be rather vague about the question of drive shaft alignment.

I talked to the shop foreman of a local brake and alignment shop whom I trust and have done business with in the past. I asked him about the subject of lift kits. He said, "We don't install them here but we have taken them off for customers who had driveshaft problems and rear differential problems." He was citing a case of a 6" lift on a Wrangler.

The kit companies suggest tilting the differential upwards to better align the driveshaft after the lift kit install. The guy at the brake shop says this can eventually cause failure of the differential when the vehicle is used on pavement as a daily driver. He speaks from experience.

I don't know if a mild lift like I am considering will be problematic, but I don't want to learn an expensive lesson either.

I would appreciate the experience and help from this forum to help me solve this issue in my mind before I proceed or just bag the whole idea.

Your current rear driveline is setup like the below pic, you want to maintain this geometry after the lift.
2joint_angle-1.gif

This is easily done on your jeep, and can generally be accomplished by simply lowering the transfer case crossmember 1/2". I did this on my '99 XJ when I lifted it 3", never had a vibration or angle problem. I made my own transfer case drop from 1/2" thick steel, simply drilling two holes to space down the crossmember from the unibody chassis.

Thanks Bounty H. That helps a lot and the drawing is an extra effort that I appreciate.