Wiring problem, Inop heater blower

Bounty__Hunter

Super Moderator
Chasing down a wiring gremlin in my '89 MJ 2.5L, trying to diagnose an inoperable heater blower. I've had the blower motor out and it works fine when 12v is applied. Here's my ref material: http://www.bteventures.com//mj1988electricalmanual.pdf

I tested the positive lead to the blower at the blower and it showed around .7v and I tested the ground at the same location and it seemed fine. I jumped straight to the fuse panel beneath the dash and tested the blower feed. .7v at this location as well. I tested the two other items on the same circuit and the radio feed tested at .7v and the turn/BU feed tested fine at 12.5v.

Any ideas as to why I'd have 2 different voltages between the 3 items on the same circuit?

I'm not very experienced diagnosing electrical problems so all help would be greatly appreciated.

I am no pro, but have a question or two:
1. With the heater/blower activated, have you tested on DC volts between the blower/heater ground and the positive voltage wire to the unit? If you have +12VDC at the lead then your ground is good and voltage is getting to the unit. If not you either have a ground issue, or a bad relay/wire/connection at/ near the heater/blower.

I tested the hot wire to the blower with a known good ground & had a miniscule amt of voltage, which disappears when the key or blower switch is turned off.. So no power to the blower. The blower ground Ohm'd out fine.

The lack of voltage at the blower fuse troubles me the most.

I am not good at schematics, however, is there a fusible link inline somewhere that may be blown. Also, I had to jump power from an available/spare fuse in my fuseblock for my radio. The factory slot/position would not give me power. You have already determined the blower is good, that would lead me to the fuse block or possibly the switch for the blower motor.