Cherokee stalls at highway speeds

Beeper

I am new to jeeps , but I have been visiting different sites trying to find any help with my problem. The local mechanic can not find it. He says everything seems to be working fine whenever he checks it. My 1991 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L IL6 dies at highway speeds. The Jeep has 126,000 miles on it. I bought it used. When the engine dies I can start it back up but I just never know when it will happen. Idle is fine. Engine was replaced at 98,000 miles according to previous owner and runs great. Have any of you experienced this and were able to fix it? I see a post below about stalling during idle, but mine goes out while cruising down the road. I looked at the crank sensor since so many posts mentioned it in response to stalling. There is a rubber grommet attached to the sensor that seems to cover a port on the bellhousing. This grommet is deformed from heat and is no longer covering the port. I removed the grommet. Would this have anything to do with the performance of the sensor? Most sensors I have worked with either work or they don't. Can the crank sensor on a Jeep work off and on? I don't have the pockets to just go replacing parts. Sorry this was so long, but I wanted to give as much info as possible. Thanks for any advice you can give me.[addsig]

Hey Beeper man I feel your pain, "sucks don't it" welcome and hopefully we will not have to have you searching to much more. So when cruiseing along at hwy speed it just dies out on you but will restart no problem. It almost sounds to me like a fule filter or something somple like that. I hope some one comes along asap and gives you a simple ez to fix way to make that puppy go.

I would start with the simplest and cheapest fixes first. Fule filter injector cleaner bla bla bla. I know I have not helped much here but will be standing by and giving it thought. Luck to you Tug[addsig]

Here's a way to check for failed crank sensor. If it goes out on the highway and you can