newbie ?s

lippy

Well Im new to this jeep stuff so all the help is much appreciated!!!!!
I went out and got a 98 grand 4.0 with select drive. brought it home put in garage just got 4.5" lift on her. AWSOME LOOKING still looking for the right size tires to suit my needs any ideas???
When I put it in 4wd part time it takes a little time for it to go in to 4wd. than once its in 4wd it takes some playing to get it out. any ideas??????
looking to have some fun with it. bought it for a play toy not daily driver but want to be able to drive when ever I want. any comments or thoughts to help this be alot of fun well taking.

thanks
lippy
98 grand 4.0 ,4.5 lift ,rest stock

what's the gear ratio in the axles?

got pics?

I'm thinking 32" or maybe even 33" tires should do it but your gearing could dictate differently.

3.55 I was kind of thinking of a 31/12.5/15 very agressive tire not to much for the gearing.
thanks
lippy

pics soon

Last edited:
i have bridgestone dualers a/t's on my 99 wrangler and its quite a step up from the stock i dont have a problem in mud and it looks great

32's would be the biggest I would go with 3.55 gearing. That's the setup I had on my Cherokee and it was fine. It did real well on the highway too. You should be able to clear them too.

well I got some bf good all terrain 31/10.5/15 for now. usedso for the time being I will use them until I scrape up some cash for the ones I want. still having the problem with the 4wd. trying to work it in and out to see if I can loosen it up. I bought it from original owner. and he said he only had it in 4wd 3 times in 250000 miles. any ideas???????

thanks
lippy
98 grand 4.5 lift iron rock lift.

I think the grand uses the vacuum acctuated 4wd, (my YJ and XJ both do) I would make sure all the vacuum lines are in good condition for starters. Then check to make sure your vacuum cannister is holding. Or you could get a mechanical replacement kit for about $200. By the way, Welcome to Jeepz!