help a newb. got a free JGC Laredo 4x4 2day runs great

brobins75

This is my first step into this world of off road, so i dont know much of anything! please bear with me, i learn quick.

Im a fairly handy guy and always seem to figure stuff out in due time, but im no professional mechanic. Ive always had new vehicles and never did any mods or improvements except electronics & car pc's. I do work on boat engines a lot, so i have some clue. but I always liked those lifted up mud trucks and the like (dont know proper terminology yet).

I got a free 93 jgc laredo 4x4 today! I had an ad on a classified website for a couple months asking for a free jeep, and it finally happened today. It runs great and feels strong. 4 wheel works fine. it has some minor cosmetic problems and the power windows dont work (off track in the down position), front bumper missing, busted headlight although it works-its kinda hanging there. But all in all its great for free.

A couple questions: i keep reading about zj or wj. how do i know what i have?

next, Im gonna need to do something about the bumper. What are my choices? I saw some for sale that looked like they replace the original bumper and look really rugged with brush guards & room for winches. Do these replace the original bumper? Id rather just go right for it and buy something like that instead of getting an oem bumper anyway.

Lifiting-- I really want to do this. I know practically nothing except it looks cool. hope thats not too lame! I see really cheap products called coil spacers, and some budget suspension kits for a few hundred bucks. I dont even know what a decent amount of lift is? I wanna go cheap for now, but I could swing a couple hundred bucks. Im not necessarily gonna do any serious off-road yet, I wanna play around first and decide if I wanna sink money into it later. What should I go with? I wanna put bigger tires on it too.

any other ideas or help would be appreciated. Thanks.