Lunch box lockers in rear

Oldfart

Doing my bucket list, I have a 05 liberty pulling a small camp trailer put 20k last year. I'm on oxygen Thinking about putting lunch box locker in the rear I am on social security so my funds are limited good or bad ideal? I love following trails (medium rating)

Welcome to Jeepz.com!

I've got an Aussie locker in the front of my Wrangler, and I'm happy with it. I have no personal experience with rear lockers, but I've heard that lunchbox lockers in the rear can be problematic, causing the Jeep to be a bit squirrelly, and to chip around corners.

What kind of rear axle do you have in that Liberty?

We'll have to wait for some of the guys with more experience to chime in on this.

Yes I have a 8.25 29 spline open diff. Was also looking at a new Dana Trax loc on eBay it says it is what would have came stock from factory. But seen some of bad reviews so I don't know which way to go. Do the clutches wear that fast? Any help would be appreciated. Or just leave it stock? Thanks Tom

Last edited:

the wife's 02 liberty had the factory locker in it and I never had trouble. it worked great on the river trails in central texas

So the Dana Trax loc would be a good choice? How many miles would the clutches wear, and are they replaceable? Thanks for all the help

Take a good look at the Detroit TruTrac, gear driven limited slip with no clutches to wear out, seamless operation onroad.

Bought one of those gear limited slip the the bolts wouldn't work called 4 wheel parts for another 110 sell me install kit that might work. Told them just send it back to them. Now I got a Dana Trax loc. I'm waiting for it to get here.let everyone know how it all works when I get it installed. Thanks