Throttle Body Replacement

Tbates57

2008 Grand Cherokee 3.7L repacking throttle body how do I do the idle speed relearn? Also any advice on the replacement I have never done one before. Thanks

So I'm going to ask some questions first so I give the best directions I can.

Why are you replacing the TB?
And what are you replacing it with? Same! Bigger, from junk yard, ??

Regards,
JPNinPA

Sent using TapTalk

The red lightning bolt dash light came on and when I replaced the accelerator position sensor the light remained. I was told by mechanic that is was one of the two. Replacing with the same body bought it from parts store.

Ok
Have you checked for CEL codes?
To check without starting the engine turn the key from the off to on position three times within 5 seconds. Too fast it doesn’t work. Look at the odometer for the output followed by done. Write down and report back the codes.
Have you reset the pcm and cleared the codes?
Once recorded you may need to reset for the new part to be acknowledged or learned. Basically remove pos battery cable touch to neg for 10 sec and reconnect. Then turn key on without starting. Headlights on. Headlights off then key off.

If not cleared:
First get your battery load tested.
Clean the cable connections to the battery and the opposite ends of the grounds. Remove sand to a shine and reconnect.
Check all fuses
Check the connections to the TB sensors. iAC and TPS.

If you changed any sensors did you use OEM?
These jeeps are fussy and many aftermarket ones are bad out of the box.

Sent from my iPhone using Jeepz.com mobile app

Last edited:

I got three codes they were: P0455, P0456, and P2181. Thanks

P2181 is your temp sending unit.
Check the connection and repair.
Replace it with OEM sensor.

P0456 and P0457 notes a large evaporator system leak. Check the hoses in the evap system. One of the valves may be bad.

If you changed the TPS was it an OEM one? That may be the issue. You need to reset the PCM as noted above.

Last edited: