Need help with my XJ couple of issues: Squeak Noise & Ga

lnixon-88XJ

J10 vs. Comanche

Hey all, first let me say this is a cool site. Now to the issues. I have an 88 Jeep XJ I picked up with 160K on it. It is very clean inside, almost no rust anywhere (tiny spot near gas) and ran pretty well until lately. Ive had it for about a year now and its got 180K on it (Lots of 250mile days) I am by no means a mechanic, but am pretty good at following books.

My first issue is a suspected blown manifold gasket. The Jeep now has a loud rumble during speeds above 20MPH. Is this something I can fix myself by working under the jeep? Or do I need a mechanic to pull the engine for this (Im poor :) )

Next there is a squeal/ chirp / squeak coming from one of the wheels in the engine area (the wheels the Serpentine belt goes around). I sprayed them all with some rust easter oil and it quiets down a little but comes back a few days later. It also goes away when ive driven the jeep at high speeds (50+) for a little bit.

I purchased an AC conversion kit and managed to get it on there after an hour putzing with the plastic fitting for the 134 hose. I tried pumping the stuff in but seems there is another valve I need to open. on the High & Low connectors. Anyone have experience with this?

Last thing for now :) If I can get the above squared away next thing is to get a paint job for the XJ. Since im poor Ive been looking at doing it my self with some auto acrylic Ive seen on ebay and a wagner paint gun. Then change the bumbers and some other minor stuff. Whats the process for cleaning up the outside and will a home spun paintjob hold up like a factory job?

Thanks in advance. My AIM name is Magnabyte or ICQ 14212144

Welcome to the Board!

1) Exhaust manifolds can crack... one thing I noticed after mine had cracked once (in addition to rumble), was a slight rythmatic clicking noise on acceleration that was relevant to engine speed.