SUBMERGED JEEP

jeepaholic46

I have a 2000 JEEP! wrangler. It has the 2.5 four cylinder and manual transmission. Long story short, the parking brake was set and the vehicle left running on a boat ramp while putting in the boat. A buddy accidentally hit the parking brake and the JEEP! rolled into the lake while running. It was completely submerged for about 30 mins. I do know the engine is hydrolocked. My intention is to replace the engine with a six cylinder. What else do I need to repair or look for in my "restoration"? Also does anyone know where can I find written information specifically for this?

I'm a novice, but i know if H2O gets into your

front diff
transmission
tcase
rear diff

you need to flush and replace all fluids.

you'll probably need a new stereo too.
j/k........ I hope the restore goes well.

swapping a 6 cyl is no easier than swapping a v8... so you might as well go big if you are gonna go at all... still have to change the motor mounts, transmission, drive shaft(s), computer, dash components, bla bla bla, and everything associated with a different sized engine

Dry out the 4 banger and clean it up real good and then trade it for a different jeep with a 6 i that is what you want. I love a 4 banger myself and hate to see one get dumped for a bigger engin when there is so many jeeps already to go in the worl with the 6 from the factory. tug

It would cost you way too much money to do the swap. I agree with Tug. If you don't like the 4 banger, dump it, and get yourself a Jeep with an I6.

BTW, check to see if there are any TSB's or recalls on your ebrake system. If so, you might get DC to pick up the bill. -al