Lifting a YJ

jeepfan555

Ok, it seems like this question is asked a lot here but I really want to make sure I get something good. I have 31" MTR's that I am planning on putting on my YJ. Sweet tires got them for christmas. I have been looking all over the place to see what lift would be the best. I have no lift right now with a 2.5L and was looking for something around 2.5" and I am willing to spend up to $800 on it. This is my daily driver and I need to make sure that the ride isn't too rough. The questions i have are:

1. What is the best size lift to get with 31" tires? (looks wise and proformance)

2. What brand is the best for my price range?

I am not planning on doing really hardcore offroading just some simple easy stuff until I start getting into it, I am a beginner.

Rough Country has a good 3 inch kit for cheap. I would not exceed 3 inches with 31's or the tires will look "dinky". There is no need to spend $800 on a 2.5-3 inch lift for a YJ. Most of them fall between 400-600, and if you need some extra flex get some revolver shackles and make sure you toss the rear track bar and get some sway bar discos while your at it.

A friend of mine just put Rubicon Express' 2.5" standard duty lift on his YJ. It looks and rides great. He has 31's. Here's a picture:
Kevins91Sahara-1.jpg

I advised him to spend the extra money for the "extreme duty" kit, but he said he couldn't justify the extra $$$. after riding in it I think he was right. It is a very complete kit that comes with a trasfer case drop and swaybar disconnects instead of just longer swaybar links.

$569 shipped to the door with upgraded Doesch Tech 3000 shocks. I don't think you'll find a better deal.

This is where he got his: http://jeepinoutfitters.com/products.asp?ID=181