Quality Info

86cj7Rich

I have read a lot of forums and decided to join this one. Everyone seems to be quite knowledgable and nice. If you don't mind, I would like opinions. I am new to the jeep world, just picked up a 86 cj7 w/ 80k on 258 engine. Its crap brown w/ orange and yellow stripes. The only rust is on the rear lip in front of the back seat, so I will have to replace the pan. Heck there isnt even any rust around the window. I picked it up for $1500 from a college kid that just didnt know better. I did have to replace the battery cables to drive it off, he said it wouldnt start. I have also replaced the flywheel and it has a new clutch. The engine smokes a little but not too bad. So now that I have bored you to dealth, I would like opinions.

I want to build this into a nice daily driver and take it off road. I don't think i have the gutts to be a rock climber. Love looking at the picks, but damn that takes gutts.

So, what order should I start in order to rebuild and add. I would rather not take it completely out of commision, as I cant afford to do everything at once. Should I start w/ suspension or engine? If I take the engine out might as well paint the body, if I do that, I want to do it right and undercoat it which means it will be off the frame. LOL.

One last thing, I need tires now. It came w/ 33/12.5/15 street tires. I would like to know if there is a decent offroad tire that will give me good street performance w/out making me deaf. Thanks in advance for any and all answers. Rich

If you want quite offroad tires, Parnelli Jones Dirt Grips are a great choice... of course I'm partial cause I have them! Mine are 36x14.5 and they are quieter than other tires of lesser size. They have great off and onroad manners, BUT... of course they are a little pricey. I got mine from www.desertrat.com
I saw that Quadratec sells them now too.
Welcome to the site!

Joop

last touchup to the ranks