New to Jeeps

Jason4x4

Hi guys. I'm new to the whole "Jeep" thing - in fact, I'm new to the whole "off road" thing in general.

The only other cars I have ever owned are 3 old 1988 Mazdas (one four wheel drive and turbocharged, but I digress...). I recently decided I wanted something different, and after driving a few used Jeeps I decided I wanted one. I just ordered a new '06 Wrangler Sport from the dealer, and it should arrive in 6-7 weeks (so they said). I have a couple of questions, namely:

I got the 30" wheel/tire group, but I hear the stock Goodyear's suck. I'd like to get some BFG's but I'm wondering what the negative effects would be of going to a 31" tire?? What will that do to the gearing? How bad will the speedo be off? ? Any other issues I need to be aware of?

While I'm at it, anybody know of any public trails around around the Baltimore, MD/York, PA area??

If you buy the Jeep with stock 30" tires it should be geared for those tires. Upon installing 31" tires, I would expect a speedometer difference of no more than 3-4 mph and I wouldn't expect any loss in power unless you have the 4 cyl. engine. Kudos on buying an '06 Jeep they look pretty cool and are, of course, very off-road capable. Keep us posted on what you think of it when you get it.

Jason4x4 said:
Hi guys. I'm new to the whole "Jeep" thing - in fact, I'm new to the whole "off road" thing in general.

The only other cars I have ever owned are 3 old 1988 Mazdas (one four wheel drive and turbocharged, but I digress...). I recently decided I wanted something different, and after driving a few used Jeeps I decided I wanted one. I just ordered a new '06 Wrangler Sport from the dealer, and it should arrive in 6-7 weeks (so they said). I have a couple of questions, namely: