synthetic in a high mileage YJ

sicnik

I'm sure this has been brought up before, i remember reading it but I cant find the thread. I hav a 93 YJ with 130,000 miles been using Penzoil high mileage oil for 5 yrs, was thinking about switching to Mobil 1 Syn. Will this help or hurt my 4 banger?

Nick

only thing it could do is help, I have been running mobil 1 for 5 years on my wj, now has 160+k miles on it and still runs as good as when I brought it home.

I started runing synthetic in my 1993 4.0L YJ at 153,000 miles ... it now has almost 157,000. Emmissions improved, gas mileage went up (1/2MPG) and engine runs about 10*F cooler.

And it doesn't leak any more on any less!

I also went to the synthetic ATF. Shifts smoother but firmer ... if that makes any sense.

Still debating the Xfer case and diffs. I don't do water crossings as a rule.

I started using synthetic oil also since I got my 2.5L 94 YJ (it came with 109K miles already on it, and it is not even corrected for the 31" tires, so it is actually even more), and even though I dont know for sure, I believe it is one of the causes that I am getting 20 mpg (yesterday I topped off, and it came out to 19.68 mpg) on my 4 banger.

Just make sure you use the weight that you need for the temperature range you will most likely see on your neck of the woods. For me, it is 20W-40 or 20W-50 (the coldest temp in Miami is the high 50's), but your case could be different. I have seen people use 10W-30 with good results as well (ussually in colder temps, though).

Felipe

I would agree, but also disagree, I have found in high milage motors, synthetic blend oils work best for oil pressure as well as durability. I believe that if you use synthetic from mile 1, then that is a diferent issue.