Big Electrical Problem

TJ_Jeep

Well went outside today just work around my jeep (BTW its a 98' Wrangler Sport) and i got in to start it and it was sluggish and notices the interior lights were staying on after the door shut so i thought no big deal i must of left them on so i go turn them they dont turn off so i shut it off go to the fuse panel and pull the fuse out and they stilled stayed on so i was like maybe a relay got stuck so im checking all relays i can find and the fuse for the radio under the hood blows all of a sudden so i was like WHAT! and not only the radio goes off i have no gauges no odometer and now no interior lights so im baffled at this point go replace the fuse shoots as i put it in take the radio make sure theres nothing touching put back in grab another and it shoots again so any help would be appreciated

Sounds like a frayed / broken wire somewhere. I'm not an electrical expert, but I'm guessing that it's a wire before the fuse block, so I'd poke around in the engine bay looking for exposed wires.

Sounds like a frayed / broken wire somewhere. I'm not an electrical expert, but I'm guessing that it's a wire before the fuse block, so I'd poke around in the engine bay looking for exposed wires.

ive looked every where i possibly can i was thinking there might be something exposed but what gets me is it the radio fuse from under the hood and when ive blown it before the radio only went out now its the interior, gauges (but check engine, airbag, and seatbelt etc.. still work just no gauges)

Fuse #17 (10amp) controls your instrument cluster, Data link Connector, Left and right Courtesy lamp, Underhood lamp. The circuit in question is a Pink/white wire that Maybe shorted to ground. Like Terry said, check it for any Pinched, Frayed or possibly a component short. What were you doing to the Jeep before this happened?, could it be relevant to it?