Im a newb to the jeep world so I have two questions about a 1972 CJ5

danielsholly

First how can you find out the original color of your jeep? I cant tell on the one I have if its original or not??? and didnt know if there was a way that you could find out. Also the Plastic fender flares were they an option on certain models or an extra option you could have if you wanted back in 1972 or add ons in the later years? I have seen some with them and seen some without and so I guess the spare tire would have to go somewhere and where does it go if there were plastic flares???:???: Think thats it for now. I am restoring my 1972 to an all original look it has a meyer steel top deluxe cab that came with it as an option in 72' and the engine has 10,500 original miles on it all stock but tires, front two seats. and im not for sure on the paint? jeep dont need much to be all original again. and trust me need alot of help to where to find the stuff bc its kind of hard but then again kind of easy...lol..I just dont know what was original and what wasnt to a certain degree so Im learning :)

On your paint I've notice that if you get in places like windshield fold or under dash you'll find the first paint and maybe in the vin if you run decoder on it. I'm not sure bout flare Q you had. Here's a pic I found online think it's the year your looking for good luck

Attachments

• image-3557887957.png
    image-3557887957.png
    211.9 KB · Views: 1,516