Brake/Turn Signal issue

Bob Snow

I have a 1952 CJ3 that I bought in November 2012. (12 volt system) None of the rear lights were wired when I brought it home. After messing trying to get everything to work I determined that I needed a new headlight switch. Once installed it did not take long to figure out the running lights, brake lights and turns signals. I also replaced the brake light switch. Since then I installed a radio and had to install a new ingnition switch this week. I believe I replaced wire for wire and post to post from old switch to new switch. Now i have running lights, brake lights but no turn signals. When I try to activate a turn signal with the brake light on the brake light on that side goes off. I am a novice at electrical problems. Do I have a bad turn signal switch or is somthing wired wrong? or????

Do your turn signals work by themselves?(No brake lite or running lites on) What does your front turn signal do when you try them with the brake lites on? My first guess is you have a bad ground somewhere,but answers to these questions might help.

Front t/s do not light up or blink at all either way. I am not sure if the t/s switch is oem of aftermarket. Thanks

There is a turn signal ,relay, i guess is what you call it. It should be uder your dash around the steering column, its usually round in shape about the size of a quarter and silver in color. That may be bad, or a ground somewhere. Are your bulb sockets clean???? It is VERY commom for the sockets to get crudded up.

I will look again for a relay, etc. None shows on the wiring diagram for a 52 CJ3. Or would it be built into the t/s switch mounted external to the steering column?

I over looked it is a 52, It may not have one. On my 69 it is about half way between the steering wheel and the floor board. let me see if I can find a pic of it.
view large image