Yj heat blower not working.

richgilbert81

So I have a 1987 jeep wrangler YJ. Earlier this summer the heat stopped working one night on a cold ride home. After tearing the dash cluster apart and testing the switch panel I now know that is not my problem. So i turn to the blower it's self. As I start to poke around with the meter I do have 12 volts to the terminals on the front of the blower. As I poke and prod with my meter lead I realize that the little red plastic/fiberglass part that the terminals go through is brittle and falling apart. The metal is literally rusted through. I am a hvac tech so I kinda know electrical. From what I do know about 12 volt systems I do think this is prob some sort of a resistor for the speeds? My question is do I need this part for my heat to operate? Can it be by-passed? This is not a daily driver at all. I only take it out in the woods a few times a month and it is parked all winter. But living in the northeast I really do need heat at night to get me back home from the trails. I do not care if I have blower speeds any more as long as it can be turned on and off!! Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks for the help folks!!

Attachments

• image-1331664855.jpg
    image-1331664855.jpg
    456.7 KB · Views: 3,109

The part pictured is the blower motor resistor that determines blower motor speed . It provides resistance to reduce or increase voltage for low , medium or high speed blower speed. If you cannot find the replacement part for any reason ( generally inexpensive) you can bypass it.