5th gear issues on my Yj

Ghost Rider

Hi guys,
just my YJ out for a ride today and everything was running smooth as always and all of a sudden, after I started to move from a stop light, when a switched in the 5th gear I start to hear a weird sound under the car. It sounds just like a baseball card against spinning spokes on a bicycle wheel..... It only happens on the fifth gear. All the others gears seem fine. It is a 2.5 L engine and the original AX transmission. Any ideas??? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I'm no expert at the AX 5 , if that's what your jeep has or if Renault made a transmission for it back then but I sounds like the syncronizer ring is hanging up on the hub. Since there is no way to remove any inspection cover , there isn't one on this transmission , inspection is difficult.
The only way I can think of to inspect it is to place it in fifth with the engine off and listen to it while moving the jeep slowly . I would try fourth and then fith to see if there is a difference . Would have to look through my shop manual if fifth shares th syncro with fourth but I think it is its own syncro. Would need to look this up but the only thing that comes to mind is if a speedo and speed sensor is near and could be coming into play. Got to hit the book for this one .
Hoping another member may have dealt with this and can share their experience ?

I'm no expert at the AX 5 , if that's what your jeep has or if Renault made a transmission for it back then but I sounds like the syncronizer ring is hanging up on the hub. Since there is no way to remove any inspection cover , there isn't one on this transmission , inspection is difficult.