Need a Trans for ‘87 4.2

Heavy10mm

Howdy, lads!
I’m new to Jeeps (as will become clear lol). I got one in fair shape cosmetically but it didn’t run. It had say for a couple of years, so I got it for a song. I’ve always wanted a Wrangler and I couldn’t pass this one up. I finally got it running, but it won’t go above 1st gear (Automatic trans, 3 speed I think but I’m not sure). Idk why, as it shifted and drove fine before it sat, but there it is.

There’s a ton to do in order to get this beast running again, but my greatest issue is the transmission. I feel sheepish asking such elementary questions, but I’ve gotta learn how to do more auto repair somewhere 😅.

Anyway, are there transmissions from other Jeep/AMC/Chrysler autos that will work in my project? Will any Jeep auto trans work, or do I have to replace it with the one that is coming out? Or is there a chance a fluid flush will get this trans going again?

Ill be asking lots lots of other stupid questions in the future, but this is the biggest issue at the moment.

Thabks fot your help and for this great forum!

I'd have a reputable transmission shop take a look at it. I wouldn't think it would require a rebuild or anything too serious.

^^agree^^

At a minimum have you checked level and color or changed the fluid

thanks! I did check, and the level is good. It’s a couple of mm down from “full”, but I don’t think that’s it. Could be though. I’m going to top it off and give it a go

I'd have a reputable transmission shop take a look at it. I wouldn't think it would require a rebuild or anything too serious.

Thank you! I appreciate the input! I will take it in if I can’t get it figured out. Someone mentioned a “kick down cable” being a possible culprit, but I can’t see one. I was told to look for a frayed or loose hose, but everything down there looks like steel. I can’t see one in my manual, either. I was hoping for a cheap/easy fix lol