HELP front end clicking in 4x4

bugleboy

I went on a trail ride through the FL swamp yesterday and noticed a loud slow racheting sound while accelerating while 4hi and 4low were engaged, the sound went away when I went back to 2hi. I was under the jeep today and the diff levels are both where they are supposed to be and there was no obvious wear and tear or fluid spray that I could see anywhere. Im new to this so I could use some pointers to try and locate the source of the sound. 2015 jku sport with 3 inch bds lift and 32 inch tires. Any help greatly appreciated I am driving 300 miles later this week on a road trip and want to make sure nothing breaks on the way there.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Ps. The clicking only seems to happen when the drive train is "under load" once I maintain speed and am not accelerating the clicking stops.

with 3 inch lift, first look at universal joints second carefully run it with - one end at a time - on jack stands. third, check all gear boxes for low level oil. better -- take it to your jeep mechanic. vin

Agree
U-joints. Specifically in the axels.
To check them you crawl under the jeep with the engine off. Grab the Front drive shaft and rock it back and forth while looking at the u-joint. It should all move as one unit. No play. Same for the axels.

Second check wheel bearings.

Report back what you did and if you did or didn’t find anything.

Sent from my iPhone using Jeepz.com mobile app

Last edited:

Agree
U-joints. Specifically in the axels.
To check them you crawl under the jeep with the engine off. Grab the Front drive shaft and rock it back and forth while looking at the u-joint. It should all move as one unit. No play. Same for the axels.

Second check wheel bearings.

Report back what you did and if you did or didn’t find anything.