TJ Trouble

paintmaine

Ok, so im a little confused. I went out to take a little ride in my 97 TJ about a half hour ago. But when i turned the key.... just.. nothing. Like you could hear some electrical activity i guess, but no cranking of the engine. So, thinking maybe i just have a short in the starter, i tapped it with a stick and tried the ignition again. Well Now it will crank but it just wont fire. It will just keep cranking as long as i hold the key. Please help? I'm not a mechanic but any advice would be greatly appreciated
[addsig]

Welcome to the board hope we can get you some answers here. 1st do you have a 4 banger or In line 6? Tug[addsig]

Its a 4 banger right now, though I have plans for an chevy small block perhaps ;) I like to think big, but right now i'd just lvoe to get my little monster back on the road. So its a 4 cylinder 97 wrangler... that wont start... heh[addsig]

I love a four banger myself! check your codes! Do you know how that works? tug[addsig]

Try this!
Start with the ignition off. Within five seconds, switch the key on,
off, on, off, on. (On is not start!)

The "check engine" light will flash. Count the flashes
Each code is a two digit code, so a (for example) 23 would be
FLASH FLASH---FLASH FLASH FLASH

It will never flash more than 9 times, watch for pauses!

55 is end of codes, 33 is normal if you dont have air conditioning.

Please note that some codes are NOT included below, this
is not a complete listing, but it IS very close to complete.

88 Start of test (This only appears on DRBII, it's not blinked out)
11 No ignition reference signal detected during cranking (bad hall
effect)
OR timing belt skipped one or more teeth; or intermittent
loss of either camshaft or crankshaft position sensor
12 Memory Standby power lost (battery cable disconnected)
13* No change in MAP from start to run
14* MAP sensor circuit open or shorted; voltage too low
15 No speed/distance sensor signal