Letting the beast get the better of me.

MOngo1970

:oops: Greetings, I'm (trying to) run a stock '85 CJ-7 but am becoming dumbfounded at every turn. It ran terribly rough when I bought it 3 months ago, so I replaced the Carter BBD with a recently rebuilt one...fixed it a little. Was getting terrible gas mileage...until I saw the fuel return from the filter was leaking and spraying, replaved all of that. But now I can only get the darn (ohhh sorry my lovely Jeep) thing to go a few hundred yards without dying! Im at a loss.

BTW, it sounds awfull when it starts (LOUD), the flywheel inspection plate is missing from the driver's side, and the starter checks good when I took it off and hooked it up to the battery.

Mongo

Hey Mongo,welcome to the board!I too have a troublesome carter carb.I am no expert when it comes to carbs.If you live in or near the conejo valley,check out conejo carbs.He worked wonders on my carter.

What city are you from?I am in the Thousand Oaks area.Hope you get your problems sorted out and hope to see you out on the trail.

clutch linking some fluid

Thanks for the welcome, Ive been watching and learning for a while...but didn't have anything productive to add or ask until now.

I bought this CJ-7 in July, from a guy in Burbank, for probably to much money, but after I sold my '82 Scrambler (I plead INSANITY) I've had the bug since. I'm in San Diego...just a hour from the hills and desert in Imperial county.

I'm not sure it's the carb. I bought it off a buddy who was upgrading to the Webber (not registered in Ca.) and his jeep ran smooth a silk with it. I am leaning to a fuel delivery problem?!? But dont' know if it's common. Everything uphill of the fuel pump is new, and when I started it last I took off the fuel return line (into a plastic bottle) and gas was flowing.

Might be electrical though, but I want to eliminate the fuel side first...any ideas? :?:

Mongo