New To The Jeep Thing

Jeepstud31b

Hello, as you can probably guess I am a newbie to the Jeep thing. I have had my 05 Jeep TJ X V6 5 Spd, for a little over a year now and I have just started doing a little off-roading. Mostly sand roads, a little bit of dirt trails but nothing too dificult or serious. I currently live in the Upstate NY area near Canada. My Jeep is all stock, (I'm kinda scared to do mods on my own with out screwing something up, not too mechanically inclined.) And I have heard about Jeep Jamboree and such. I am really interested about off roading, but I dont wan't to get REALLY CRAZY. Any ideas of any clubs that would be for me and my Jeep? Also, what easy modifications could I do to my Jeep that won't really cost an arm and a leg. I just installed Mopar Fog Lights by myself (YIPPEE) and I have tow hooks on the front and rear. Any suggestions or anyone wanna teach a newbie would be really cool. Thanks :D

welcome to jeepz, or the "Z" as some around here call it.

anyway, on to you question about modifications. lift and tires, they are typically the first thing most people do. if you dont want to spend an arm and a leg but still want bigger tires, one of the best combinations that a lot of people run would be to do a 2" coil spacer lift and a 1 inch body lift. couple that with some 33" tires and your on the right path to run many trails.

as far as clubs go, jsut keep an eye out and look for stickers on other jeeps, or get on google and search for some around your area, most clubs are very accepting, in my experience, and always willing to have new members. being a club member has its benefeits too. i know my club gets discounts from places, we do annual trail runs to places like tellico and paragon, and we hold local events (public and private) such as barbeques and car washes.

good luck with your jeep and i hope you find it as great a passion as most people here do.

-sam

RE: clicking/popping front end

Welcome!