500 Error On Resgistration Page

Pear

Tried to sign up a few weeks ago but couldn't. My browser didn't display an error. There's no output in viewsource.

Tried again yesterday and had the same response.

So I tried Chrome on a different box and saw a 500 error..

I saw the link "Download Our App", so I installed that on my phone, then regestered, then came back to the site and was able to log in.

I used the search feature to see if anyone else had already posted about the error but didn't find anything.

A 500 error is usually a config error, but can also be a permissions error (I'm a server admin / programmer by trade).

If you're running nginx, make sure the path block allows php-fpm. If it's apache make sure php is allowed to run in that directory (add "+" to dir block <..> in apache config).

Lastly you can change the perms to 755 to test (chmod 755 /path/to/register.php -or- chmod +x /path/to/register.php). Test by logging into the server and running php against the page (php /path/to/register.php).

Make sure the "owner" of register.php is whatever webserver you're running (eg: chown apache:apache /path/to/register.php).

If it's IIS (a windows server), switch to a Linux or Unix server :).

I heard great things about this forum, but the inability to register here made me register on a different forum. That sucked as you'd expect so I came back to get it figured out. I'm in now, so no biggie, but it may be keeping others from being able to sign up!!

I just wanted to say thank you for posting this. I hadn't tested the registration process for a long time, and it appears that a previous upgrade to PHP caused some stuff to break. It should now be resolved.

As a side note, the error_log had grown to 25 gigs....

No problem!

Dang! 25 gigs - that's crazy!!

Just curious, do you mean it was it a single file?

(logrotate should split them out by day, but it may not be running in cron)