Selecting a GPS

whiterubicon

My jeep has a new friend

Who uses a GPS and what kind do you use? I am just now looking into them but not sure what kind would work best for me. I would use it mainly in my Jeep while trying to find my way from here to there. I get lost everywhere I go. I think I want a hand held since Jeep security is an issue. I was looking at the Rino. It has a radio that my wife and I could find a use for. So any ideas?

I was about to post the exact same question. I'm also looking for a hand held unit but one that can also be used with a computer if I want. I was told by someone that the only real differnece between cheaper units and more expensive units is the amount of memory they hold.

I've been using GPS for close to 10 years now for my research (I'm a geologist) and I've used a lot of different brands and models. The ones I'm using right now are the Garmin etrex variety. You can get the cheap yellow Garmin etrex (which are fine, easy to use and enough memory to get you going) for about $90-100 at REI, Bestbuy, etc. I've also seen these on ebay for $70-80. I've used these like them had no dramas with them. I hook them up and download data frequently (you can also upload). I personally am using a Garmin Etrex Venture right now. It runs $140-150, has a few extra features and a little nicer design. No real major differences though. All of the etrex models are 12 channel receivers (thats good) as are most Magellan etc at this point. There are other etrex models that have different features making them more expensive (e.g. altimeters, electronic compasses, etc.) but if you are just getting started stick with the basics. I haven't used Magellan in over 5 years. They were clunky back then which is why I switched to the Garmins, but I have some buddies that use newer Magellan models and they look comparable to the Garmin models at this point.