Not a Noob, but a Noob question:

I've been wheeling for almost 20 years now, but haven't really ever talked about it with anyone that knows much, so obviously when I came to these forums, it took me a while to get the jist of some of the terms used. There are still some I don't have a clue about. My question of the week is this:

What is SYE? (Told you it was a Noob question). I've looked around here quite a bit, but can't seem to figure it out on my own, and can't find any threads to explain it. So, what does it stand for, what does it do, and why would I want it? (Not that I really want it, just curious, so I have more understanding when I read about other people using it)

Thanks for your patience and understanding....I will now return the forums to the professionals for an answer!

Slip Yoke Eliminaator. see off road glosery! <<< over ther and up a bit. Dude I am just glad you have the knowledge to ask for answers casue we as men get such a bad rap for not asking. I ask directions read directions and look stuff all the time. As an auctioneer I have sold stuff that you would not believe. I have to try to look knowledgeable and present every item as factual as posible to the public. So over the years I have learned it is not that you have to know everything "cause no one does" you just need to know enough people knowledgeable in enough areas to help you look like you know everthing! hehe tug

SYE = Slip Yoke Eliminator. It replaces your slip-yoke rear with a fixed yoke. When you get an SYE you'll need to get a CV shaft. With an SYE/CV shaft combo you can eliminating possible vibrations and the transfer case drop. SYE's also give more room for the drivshaft (meaning it can add length to the driveshaft, making it easier to install higher lifts without binding to CV driveshaft.)

Did I miss anything guys?