Built a roof rack

ROGLSTUBB

After several years of my wife asking for a roof rack for her jeep. I finally got a chance to make her one even complete with her tweety emblems on the side. Now on to more important projects like a steel bumper for my ZJ.

5uph0-3.jpg

This is my first time loading a pic so if it dont work I will try again.

That is wiwwee wiwwee nice. Siwwee Putty tat!

I like the design.

That is wiwwee wiwwee nice. Siwwee Putty tat!
HAHAHA!!! My God, with all the flooding everywhere, it's great that you guys keep me laughin'!

Nice rack, by the way (oops! supposed to say that to women, right?). I have great appreciation for innovation and "do it yourself" stuff.

nice... one question.. no cross-bars? that'll be hell on the paint if you put anything that will scratch up there.. just an observation. Looks real nice though

My wife dont wheel hers and about the only thing we ever put up there is soft sided luggage. I will eventually put a cross rail for putting a full size spare on the roof like I have done on mine. But I just bolt that cross rail in. I use mine for a platform to put perimeter lighting and when I build those bumpers and some rocker rails I will put a hi lift jack up there as well.

I think my wife reason for wanting one is so she can mount the extra tweety reciever cover plates I machined for her reciever hitch. Good thing I only milled out three or she find a place to put another one. It only took three hours to cut bend and TIG weld the alum tubing up so was not like I spent days on it if she really does'nt use it.

I have had mine for several years and I have never used it for anything that would scratch the paint up there. I looked at quite a few when I was making mine and had always thought that they looked too shallow. If I ever needed cross rails they certainly would not be hard to add but the depth is nice too. Maybe make them to where they would be removable.