What is the difference

Dawnie

I have a quesion .. :oops:
What is the difference between a wrangler - and a wrangler YJ or Tj or any of the other intials .. I see something I wanted to get I am new to being a Jeep owner and they say for use on a 95 Jeep YJ and I was confused if it would fit my wrangler which is a rio grande ..
If u can I would appreciate any info
Thanks
Dawnie

RE: Coil questions: What ignition coil works best?

Well Dawnie, first off, welcome to Jeepz!
To answer your question we first need to know the year of your Wrangler, and what it is you are buying for it.

But as far as the initials go, the designation is like this:
a YJ is a wranger from 87-95. The TJ is from 97-present. Some accessories fit all Wranglers, but most don't.
YJ's have square headlights, and TJ's have round.

I believe the "Rio Grande" is a regional special edition.

Here are descriptions of the designations that are most popular:
CJ-5: Civilian Jeep based on the M38-A1 built from 1954 to 1971 with an 81 inch wheelbase and from 1972 to 1984 with an 83.5 inch wheelbase.
CJ-7: A modernized version of the CJ-5 built from 1976 to 1986 with a 93.5 inch wheelbase.
XJ: The Jeep Cherokee built from 1984 to 2001.
YJ: The Jeep Wrangler built from 1987 to 1995.
TJ: The 1997-current Wrangler including the Rubicon and Unlimited models.
ZJ: The Grand Cherokee built from 1993 to 1998.
WJ: The Grand Cherokee built from 1999 to 2004.
KJ: An SUV called the Jeep Liberty built from 2002-present.
WK: Redesigned Grand Cherokee introduced as the 2005 model year with independent front suspension

The Yj has square headlights, signals on the grill, and leaf springs. The Tj has round headlights, signals on the flares, and coil springs. Suspension parts are not universal for the most part but some other parts fit both jeeps. It should be listed if it is a non-universal or universal part for both the Yj and the Tj. Have fun and welcome to jeepz!

EDIT : Uh Mingez beat me to it! :lol: