Anyone heard of The New Shade Top for Jeep Wranglers

jpearson

Hey guys. I’m pretty new to owning a Jeep and I’ve got a question. I've been looking for a good shade top and I found one made by SpiderWeb Shade Solutions. Anyone heard of this? Got any opinions? You can see the top at:
spiderwebshade.com

$59.99 for that? I hope the blonde comes with it to install it! As much as the regular channel tops whip around in the wind I couldn't imagine that Spidershade would be any good except for at trail speeds.

Cheesy, $60 for a rectangular piece of mesh with grommets?

And my favorite quote: "Very sturdy, well designed, easy to install top. Kept the wind out of my hair and the sun out of my eyes."

Keeps the wind out of your hair? Come on.

i am sure it is an ad. that spiderweb thing is based in florida too. i say buy a cheap grommet press, some mesh & make one. that way when it gets shredded by the wind you can make another :)

Everything you ever wanted to know about it is in this thread:

mesh windjammer? - JeepForum.com

There are definitely some aspects of this product that appeal to me - I'll give you the recap because it is a long thread.

1. According to people that have it, it doesn't flap in the wind at all.
2. It doesn't require the header to slide into, nor the door window channels...so you can put your soft top (or hard top) up quickly without taking this one off...and then you can use it for storage in the space between the tops. Nice if you live somewhere that it rains a lot so you can get that soft top up fast.
3. Sounds like it provides decent shade and actually some noise reduction - especially with the windjammer piece on and the windows rolled up - people are saying it is noticeably easier to talk on a cell phone on the highway. Not sure how much stock I put in this claim.
4. Some people love the little bungy cords with the ball attachments, some people seem to hate the way they look and would prefer if they used straps instead.