Your Jeep knowledge - self taught or formal training?

TerryMason

Administrator
Staff member
How many of us are formally trained mechanics?

For myself, I'm a self taught guy with plenty of trial and error (emphasis on the error part). Things are much better since the internet came along (beats the heck out of a haynes manual).

So what about you guys?

I started in my teens hanging around with my highschool friends modifying import cars and racing for money. After moving here to the U.S. i worked part time in an automotive shop to aquaint myself with the different automobiles and learn more. My full time job is non automobile related at the time until i moved to Texas with my family. With my current job, i was sent to Chrysler Academy and travelled quite a bit until i was master certified with a level 4 achievement. I've been employed with this company now for 12yrs. and we are continuously advancing with our technology and training updates to further our skills and knowledge to keep our Chrysler, Jeep and Dodge products up to the highest quality and performance. On the side of my full time job, i build and design Jeep parts such as bumpers, roll cages, dash, etc. I have a custom steel fabrication business that i do on the weekends if i'm not out in a ranch guiding hunters.

I was always interested in cars, and in high school when me and my friends got cars they always talked about this and that. I found howstuffworks.com and read every auto related page, and then started tinkering with my car, along with helping my friends on their cars. I have a basic knowledge about everything that was self taught. There are certain things I don't know, and when it comes to Jeeps, there are many things I can learn, but most of the things I know is from something I read, or tried.