New to wranglers, buy stock or modified?

joeylead

Hello, let me introduce myself, I am new to wranglers, but not offroading. I am going to purchase a wrangler in the near future. I live in Long island and will be using it for ocasional rock crawling, local dirt wheeling and beach running.

My background is rooted in toyotas, I have owned and built several of them. I also owned a 96 cherokee but never did more than routine maintenance on them. I used to rockcrawl mostly with my 99 taco on 35's (IFS) i built myself. I took a break when I first had kids and am now looking for an open top wheeler and the wrangler is perfect for my current needs.

My dilemma is this, i am looking at 2 option right now and am unsure which way to go.

#1) Stock 97 TJ, 4.0, 5spd 111k great condition. Has all the amenities (2 tops, A/C, good stereo) runs well and needs nothing immediately

#2) 88 YJ, sprung over, 4:1 tcase, 8.8 rear, 4.88 gears and arb lockers, roll cage and winch and is fuel injected (mopar conversion i think). Needs tires, front seats, fuel pump and prob alot of little things. Has been sitting for a few years.

I have a set of old 35's I could either put on the YJ or trade for a nice set of 32" MTR's for the TJ.

Both jeeps are going for the same price, about 5k

My dilemma is i cant decide if i want to jump into an already modified vehicle considering it is pretty much set up as i would personally build a YJ or go with the newer TJ knowing that it would cost more but be a more comfortable ride. I am also afraid of opening a pandoras box on the YJ. But I do trust the guy selling it. I like working on trucks and know that building it myself would give me the ability to fix it on the trails when i break stuff. I wont be using either for a DD, well unless i wanted to. I am looking for suggestions from peoples personal experiences. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

And if this is in the wrong section, mods please move. I looked for a newbie section but didnt see one.