some jeep education please

jeepless in ga

ok guys I have a few questions for ya.
im new to jeeps. I am doing my research as to which jeep would be
best for my needs. im looking for something I can use as a daily driver
as well as a hit the trails toy. im not looking to go rock crawling or boggin,
just riding some trails and carring my kayaks deep into woods for some camping
and weekend fun. my problem is I have heard some bad things about jeep over the
yrs. im a mechanic by trade and have seen some of the horror's for myself.
so this worries me and puts me on the fence if jeeps are "junk" as so many will lead
you to believe and so many stories on the web will tell you. I don't fully believe the "hype"
as you see so many jeeps on the road and off road everywhere ya go.
I honestly don't know if I want a wrangler jeep or a Cherokee type. I don't know the pros
and cons of either. I want a wider wheel base to help to keep from flipping so easy.
im not looking to spend a fortune on my first jeep. roughly 5K maybe.
if I like the product after a couple yrs i'll upgrade of course. anybody feeling where im coming
from here on this? so what motor will I be looking to get? what motors do I avoid?
same with transmissions? what body style do you guys think would be better suited for what im
looking to do? what yrs do I want to avoid? so many questions. I hope ive come to the right spot
to get some solid answers.

The Cherokee and Wrangler in your price range have the same track width so stability will be similar, depending more on how high you lift the Jeep and wheel offset.

I recommend a 4.0L engine in the '91-'95 Wrangler or '91-'01 Cherokee. The Wrangler will provide topless fun while the Cherokee usually has a roof rack better suited for your kayaks. The Cherokee carries much more gear as well.