General AC help needed

TerryMason

Administrator
Staff member
The AC on my wife's Honda Pilot is on the fritz, and I'm a noob when it comes to AC.

a month ago, the AC was week - it would blow slightly cooler than outside air. You can hear the compressor kick in. I hooked up a cheap-o AC recharge kit, and it said I was low on refrigerant, so I added some and the AC worked better for a couple of weeks (not really cold though).

Yesterday it was 100 or so, and the AC was poor. I was just a tiny bit low on refrigerant, so I added a few squirts and it worked alittle better (but still poorly).

So, I've gone out and bought some AC gauges, as well as a can of leak detector and the googles / light that you use. I'm assuming there is a leak somewhere. Does this sound like a reasonable course of action? Anything else I should be trying?

I would also assume a leak. I have never tried those leak tester before doesn't get that got here and I am not a fan of AC. Only other thing I could think would be a bad compressor it could be kicking in our is the internal parts actually working.

2x Also look at the belt. Or the belt tensioner.

Honda forums are not like jeep forums. they are more complaints than solutions.

Last edited:
100 degrees. guages should be about 45 low and 250 high. are the fans on cooling the condenser. also is the cabin filter clear. make sure condenser isnt blocked with leaves and junk. on the front or between the radiator and condenser.

100 degrees. guages should be about 45 low and 250 high. are the fans on cooling the condenser. also is the cabin filter clear. make sure condenser isnt blocked with leaves and junk. on the front or between the radiator and condenser.

Great points. Esp the fans. They are usually two speed fans.

Thanks guys for the help.

I used this chart for a general guide, it seems to jive with what you said cougarlasch:

TempPressurechart.jpg