Home network replacement

JPNinPA

Ok I've been having issues with my home internet network. I've had the ISP out here several times. They ran a new cable to the house. But still every once in a while the Internet drops. Either you get booted off the router or the communication is interrupted. Game lag or slow page loading.
I've changed modems two times in three years and routers about the same. All are compatible with my ISP.

I replaced patch cables to CAT7 from the CAT5&6 I had.
Next is rewire the house cable with Quad foil RG6.

How often do you replace modems and routers?

Regards,
JPNinPA

Sent using TapTalk

I've never had a router go bad, however I have had to replace modems - mainly because of problems like you are having, where I don't have any real insight, and am just throwing parts at it. I've been running the same router for at least three years now.

What do you do to temporarily fix the situation? Does rebooting the router or modem bring you back online? Also, do your neighbors have any of these problems?

Lately rebooting everything modem, router, PC or iPad... Then calling the isp to see what they are doing in their end or if they could see something on ours. Does it work? Idk but it passivates us till it stops at a min.
I've even knocked devices off the net to be sure it's not every PC downloading the same update in the background.

Idk if neighbors have the same issue. I'll have to ask. I do have a new neighbor and have considered their WiFi may be conflicting with ours due to proximity. Dueling antennas if you will. I could see their network in more than 1/2 of my house. So I moved the router 20 ft away and more toward the center of my house. The jury is out on if this works.

My new modem runs very hot compared to the old one. I'm looking into if this is normal.

Why do modems die? What are the signs?

Regards,
JPNinPA

Sent using TapTalk