Mechanical Knowledge

mgaron

I am new to the jeep scene and i was just wondering how yall got all of your knowledge on jeeps. I want to eventually be able to modify my jeep by myself but right now i am lacking knowledge. Anyway what is the best way to start getting information and building skills in modifying jeeps(ie lifting, troubleshooting problems and any other repairs a jeep owner might run into. Thanks and by the way im new to the scene so if i am doing anything wrong please help me out.[addsig]

You're ready and willing, so you're on the right track. Just soak up as much gee-whiz info as possible when it comes to Jeeps, and be able to recall it :lol: Get to know local jeepers, and organize them if they don't yet get together. 'round here, we get together for wrenching parties when it comes time to lift a Jeep or work on something else. This way everybody learns, and it's great for socializing and comraderie.

I just taught myself, taking apart everything I could get my hands on and learning how it works. Also learned a lot just by watching others.

Support groups are good, like here at jeepz.com, and remember, if you're not sure, ask before you buy or disassemble.[addsig]

Just do what I do. If someone asks if you can do something, always say yes. It can't be that hard. Thats how I've learned almost everything I know from replacing U joints to bondo work. Most trail trouble shooting comes from experience. It used to take my 4 hours to get out of some of the bigger mud bogs in the area, but know I know what works and I'm out in 10 minutes. Learn by doing. Just try not to break anything. :lol: [addsig]

With us... any member here can tackle anything on a jeep... its not hard... few bumped knuckles and some grease on the hands, and rust in the eys... that's about the worst part[addsig]

Take your time do alot of hands on and research ...Then just
take small bites at a time... If you have any questions along
the way just ask....... :-D [addsig]