Bought Me A New Jeep

Jeeper89

Well everyone I got a new jeep...its an 88 Cherokee Larado,loaded, auto, black, and have had it for one day and i love it, now comes the questions, how hard is it to change the theromostat? i have never done it before and the Hynes manual makes it sound really easy but i dont want to change it thinking it will be easy and it being hard, and what series flowmaster should i get, i want a nice rumble, not to loud but loud enought that people can hear me comming. last but not lest SOUNDMAN if you read this post what 4.5" life do u have on ur cherokee i talked to u about it earler and where did you get it from? sorry for all of the questions and thanks for the help in advance

Hey,congrats on the jeep purchase.Sorry,but I dont know much about xj's.Good luck with it.

Replacement Floor

The thermostat is really easy to replace on the 6-cylinders. Just remove the 2 bolts and put in a new thermostat and gasket. Be sure you get one that looks exactly like the old one, or you could run into problems :mrgreen:

-Nick :!:

What ? Its a day old and you havnt posted a whole picture album yet ?

LoL, the thermostat is the first thing i took out on my jeep, it was the easiest thing i have done yet too. The only thing holding it in is 2 bolts, make sure to replace the gasket if its worn out.

sorry no pics yet i dont have a digital camera and i am too broke right now to buy a camera and get the pics delevloped, its still likes to run warm after replacing the theromostat, it dosent over heat but it stays about 1/2 way between the 210 and the line right before the red part, and if i get stuck at a red light or drive really slow it creeps up really slow, so tommrow i am going to check my collant, and flush the radiator and i have heard of air in your collant system causing it to over heat, what is the easist way to get air out of the system in an XJ?