New to welding

TerryMason

Administrator
Staff member

OK, I've never welded anything before.... Now that I have that off my chest, I need to weld a new rear crossmember onto my frame while I have the tub off. I'd also like to weld on some new body mounts.

I've been given a very old 220 volt stick arc welder that I can try to use, but I've thought of just going to walmart and picking up a new little wire feed welder, similar to this I think they are under $200.

Keep in mind that I have no knowledge of welding. My understanding of a stick welder is that I clamp the pieces I want welded in place, then attach one of the welders clamps to the frame, then use the other clamp to hold a stick of welding stuff (I don't even know the real name) and touch that stick to the part where my new crossmember and frame meet.

I've heard that the wire feed welders are just "point and shoot".

I probably wont use any welder more than a handfull of times, and I think there is a good learning curve to the stick welder.

What do you guys think? Anyone know of a good "how to" website that I can check out?

Terry[addsig]

The first one I learned to use was a wire fed. I love it. I tried stick welding; it's ok, but still like the wire fed much better. AND, don't forget the FACE MASK. Unless you like the feeling of having sand in your eyes. That's what having burnt eyeballs feels like. I know. Been there, done that.[addsig]

Terry,

I would suggest that you do not use a stick welder for any welding on a Jeep. Stick welders are good if you're into amateur bridge building, but not for automotive applications.

Get a good quality wire fed MIG welder and you can't go wrong. The $200 buzz box welders are not nearly as good as the more expensive units and your weld quality *will* suffer. Since you're into Jeeps, that means plenty of future welding, so I would suggest you buy something that you can grow into.