PCM programming / ignition timing

Andrew F

I have recently installed a Clifford Performance 264H cam in my '97 TJ 4.0. Does anyone know if the ignition timing can be adjusted in the factory PCM? I have a MODIS scanner (high end from Snap On) I'm still learning to use. Will it be able to adjust it? Or will I have to find an aftermarket PCM? The timing needs to be be at 4-6 BTDC. It's currently at about 8 BTDC.

Last edited:

The only way i can see this possible is to get a programmer. The software on the PCM cannot be re-written when it comes to ignition timing and fuel delivery even with the use of the factory scan tool. The Modis scan tool may just have the same features or if even that like off the DRB3. Google "programmer" and see if you find one that suits your application.

The older controllers like xjs and yjs you can pull up to 8 degrees timing. But that's with obd 1. Chrysler put that in as they were bad for ping. As for your tj. I don't believe it's possible it's all controlled by computer. Should be optimum for how it's running.

And why do you wanna pull timing. Timing is power. If your not having and detonation or pinging I would be wanting to put some timing in.

The Clifford cam is designed to make torque from idle. As the timing is set I don't get anything from the cam until about 2250rpm. It fights the ignition timing at startup. Once it's running it's smooth as a swiss watch (probably due to the 114 lobe centers). I only need to advance it a couple degrees. At this point it looks as though I'll have to change out the rest of the ignition system to MSD or Mallory to get any adjustment at all.