Jumps on turns

jsk56

Hello. I have a 93 Grand Cherokee equipped with QuadaTrac - full time 4WD. The vehicle jumps on turns - like when turning into a parking space. I'm afraid that I have transfer case issues - but then again, I'm no expert on 4WD. Any advice or information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

How sharp a turn are we talking about? Close to full lock?
I don't know enough to help troubleshoot the drivetrain, but is it possible that your tires are larger than stock, and making contact when you turn sharply?

It sounds like one of two possible issues.

1. You are in part time 4wd on dry pavement. This should be avoided as the system can bind, causing the symptoms you Are describing. Make sure you are in full time 4wd or 2wd.

2. With the wheels fully turned, the u-joints on the front axle can bind. This is normal if this is when it is happening. If you can put it in 2wd, this should stop.

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk

Unlikely his Jeep has a 2wd option.

Good chance the viscous coupling in the transfer case is going bad, pretty common in your model with the 249 transfer case.

Yup. Swap it out for a 2&4 wheel t-case or just learn to live with it. Replacing the coupler is expensive

Search the Internet for 'Jeep 249/231 swap' if you're interested in upgrading and the 2wd option. 249/242 is another good swap.

Thank you everyone for your help. I didn't realize that a swap was an option. I never really liked the Quadra-Trac/Full-Time function - but then again, I'm a newbie to 4WD. I DO know that when it comes to 4WD- Jeep is the best.

Your attitude about Jeeps is a good one :D

Keep us updated if you decide to address this issue. Lots of good write-ups on the web if you're up to swapping in a more reliable transfer case.

I think I will eventually HAVE to do something - it seems to be getting worse. A swap to a 2/4wd case would be the way to go, I think. Thank You again for all of your input. Jeff.