88 YJ runs like butt

livengood-88-YJ

88 YJ with the 4.2L it runs rough if i smash the throttle it will sputter and die. it also has no power i already know the timing is off ive tried playing with it and can't seem to get anywhere with it. has brand new cap rotor (for 300cid ford) plugs wires and a new ignition control module oem i was told i need to replace the ignition control module to an aftermarket one like msd i just want the power i know it should have any help os great thanks im new to this

Do a Compression test, check if your cat is clogged.
Check your plug wire firing order.
Get that timing corrected.
Is your battery fully charged and bring charged effectively? Clean the terminals and grounds.

Last edited:
if they did all the ignition stuff, is it a stock carb? for sure, that could be the trouble but without setting the timing, its hard to say.

do you have a vacuum gage? that is the easiest way to check the timing.

It's an aftermarket carb with a stock ignition control module and I don't have a vacuum gauge but I do have a timing light and there's no cat to be clogged and just fixed my battery issues

Agree that a compression test should performed to determine the engines health .
Also , test the intake manifold for intake leaks at the base gasket where the carb bolts up but more in particular where the intake bolts up to the cylinder head . In - line engines are known for intake leaks there . You can try to retorque the intake hold down fasteners to see if improvement is found which would indicate a possible worn gasket but at least loose gasket seal.