I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee 4.0 n I'm looking for better gas miliage

Thatsthespirit

I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee 4.0 n I'm looking for better gas mileage. I'm not a mechanic by any means so my knowledge is limited. I thought of changing the plugs, maybe a cold air intake but the milage is hurting after my previous 30mpg ride. Any advice is much appreciated.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Jeepz.com mobile app

What mpg are you getting?

There is little to be done to improve mpg. 16&18 mpg city & highway new.

Cold air intakes get relearned by the PCM and you get about 500 mi of 1more mpg then it goes back.

However there are things to get you back to normal.
Proper speedo gear for the tire size and rear gears.
Plugs, clean injectors, check fuel pressure, clean intake, TB and IAC, clean valves and combustion chamber (steam or sea foam) clean battery cables and opposite ground ends. Load test battery. Validate alternator output to loads specifically extra non stock loads (amps radios lights...)
Check for codes. O2 sensors or bad cats rob mpg.

Bigger wider tires kill mpg-increased rolling resistance. Lift kits kill mpg- pushing a bigger brick through the air.
External lights add wing resistance.
Same with roof racks.
Lighten loads - heavy bumpers, spare tire, tools trunk stuff... Loose weight.
Proper tire pressure reduces rolling resistance.

Lay off the skinny pedal, slow to PULL OUT, brake easy...

Highway at 65mpg actually gets the best mpg.

Regards,
JPNinPA

Sent using TapTalk

Last edited: