82 CJ7 rear main seal Help!!

05renegade

Ok, I am a newbie so please excuse my ignorance! I have battled and battled to get the motor mounts, oil pan gasket, and main seal replaced. I finally got the bearing cap off and was able to replace the bottom seal with no problems. I attempted to remove the upper seal using a small screw driver or center punch....the darn thing (and i am being kind!) will not freaking budge :bomb: !!! In the process I did damage the seal that is currently in there so now there is no turning back!!!!!

I have battled with separate issues on every step of this project and its become very frustrating... If you have any kind of suggestions or trade secrets that may help me it would be VERY MUCH appreciated!!!!!

PLEASE HELP :)!

Don't use a sharp object to push the seal around the crank, it will only expand one end and make it more difficult to go around. Instead, use a blunt tip punch small enough not to score the crankshaft surface.

Makes sense! Will it come out fairly easily or will I have to work at for awhile? ...and once I get it out, I heard using dish soap or oil is key to getting the new one in....is it difficult putting the new one in? I'm worried that I bit too much off this time....not a good feeling!!

A liberal amount of oil will help installing the new seal. The old one just needs to be worked with and will come out.

Ok I'll take a break tonight and try it again tomorrow. Thanks for your help and advice!

Thanks again Steelheadz! I was able to get the upper seal out without any issues using a small torx screw driver. It actually popped right out! Anyway, both seals and the cap are back on! Moving on to the next thing!